top of page
Search
  • naomitrueman23

Creating watercolour Landscapes

Updated: May 19, 2021



Materials: watercolour paper, watercolours/gouache, fine line pens (that are water and fade proof).

 

Creating landscapes with watercolour and pen is one of my favourite things to do, because with the pen you can get all the finite details in and then add all the vibrant colours using watercolour or gouache. So here is the process I go through when making them:


1) I find a photo I’d like to try painting (usually a photo I’ve taken on my phone) and begin to mark out the key outlines of the landscape. I usually jump straight into pen, but I can also use pencil first.

2) I then begin to add in more detail using the pen to make all kinds of marks and textures that I can see in the photo.

3) Once I’ve added all the detail I would like in pen, I then start adding watercolour to the page. I have no real method to adding the watercolour, but I usually start by adding lighter colours first, and going over the layers again until I’m happy with the look of it.

 

The main thing with these landscapes are that I’m constantly experimenting with the process of making them, so it can look as messy or as neat as I like. Here are some paintings I’ve attempted in the past:










0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page