top of page
Search
  • naomitrueman23

Creating Collage Animals


 


Materials: Scrap paper (old magazines or catalogues), scissors/craft knife, glue, paper, pencil.

 

I have always really enjoyed the process of collage, so taking time to experiment and get a bit messy is definitely part of my work process. Here’s how I went about creating these lovely collage animals:


1) I begin by sketching out a design outline on paper that I like to make as a collage. I then look at the scrap paper I have and tear out any colours or textures that would look good to use. (It’s usually helpful to have some reference images to base colours and textures off of).


2) After I have a whole load of paper cuttings I want to use, I begin to position them on the outline and cut parts out to make them fit. There are two techniques I have experimented with here: if you want a hard edge to the outline, then use scissors or a craft knife to cut the edges, but if you want a textured edge, then I try tearing the edge with my fingers.


3) Once I have all the paper in position, I then begin to glue them down (PVA glue works best, but a glue stick can also work). When I am happy with the collage, I can leave it as it is, or experiment with adding other different materials on top, like gel pen.


Here are some examples of my work using this technique:




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page